Category Archives: Databases

Mobile Resources Page

We recently added a Mobile Resources page to our website on the mobile apps and websites available free to you through the library’s subscriptions.  Some of these databases include DynaMed, Micromedex, EBSCOhost and UpToDate.  Browse the resources available to you at http://library.luhs.org/hslibrary/e-resources/mobile/ or click on the Mobile Resources link under the Quick Links and E-Resources tabs on our website (library.luhs.org).  If you have any questions about downloading or using these resources please reach Liz Novak at elnovak@lumc.edu or #65305.

Quertle: Intelligent semantic queries of MEDLINE (PubMed) and Biomedical Literature

Quertle is a free research tool that is a “relationship-driven biomedical search” engine.  Using relationships instead of keywords, Quertle searches for relevant information based on subject-verb-object triplets. Although it sounds complicated, Quertle is a power tool for simple searches and removes some of the frustrations that can come from searching in databases like PubMed.

Review Quertle’s help site for further information or check out this power point:

Current Ovid Segment

Please note that the default date segment for searching in Ovid is 2007 to present.  Thus if you are interested in searching for articles published prior to 2007 you will have to change the segment.  Here are a few simple steps to do so:

1. Click on the Ovid Resources link above the search bar.

2. Check the time segments/specific Ovid resources you need.

3. You should then see a list of the time segments or specific Ovid resources you selected above the search bar.

DynaMed Mobile App

The EBM app has all the usual perks of DynaMed: point-of-care information updated daily, easy access to articles with one click, ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes, and easy navigation.  Once the app is downloaded to your phone or tablet you never need to log-in to use the database again; it’s just one click and you’re in the database. If you’re interested in downloading the app through the library’s subscription for free, email Liz Novak for an access code at Elnovak[at]lumc.edu with information on the type of phone/tablet you use.  Access codes expire after one year, but you can contact the library for a new one at that time.  The library is also offering workshops on how to download and use various medical apps including DynaMed, Micromedex, and MDconsult on 2/9 (1-2pm), 3/11 (10-11am), and 4/11 (10-11am).  If you’d like to participate in one of these workshops, contact Jeanne Sadlik at JSadlik[at]lumc.edu.

Spring Classes

Join us at our Spring Classes!  Whether you’re a beginner or looking to sharpen your advanced skills, you’re welcome to participate in our workshop-style classes.  RSVP by emailing Jeanne Sadlik at JSadlik[at]lumc.edu or via e-learning.   Brief Class Descriptions are below.  For more information visit here.

Biomedical Mobile Apps: We will describe the medical apps available, with an emphasis on the ones available for free through the library.  We’ll also go through the process of downloading and getting started with them.
Classes: 2/9 (1-2pm), 3/11 (10-11am), 4/11 (10-11am)

Evidence Based Medicine: We will cover the easiest and most thorough ways to search for the highest levels of EBM.
Classes: 2/21 (10-11am), 3/23 (3-4pm), 4/20 (3-4pm)

Using Refworks: Make compiling and formatting your bibliography easy with Refworks! We will learn how to download citations from various databases, upload to Refworks, and use the citations to create a formatted bibliography in Word.
Classes: 2/8 (3-4pm), 3/8 (3-4pm), 4/5 (3-4pm)

Searching Cinahl on EbscoHost: Learn to optimize your searching skills.  We’ll focus on using Subject Headings efficiently to create powerful search queries significantly improving access to relevant biomedical information.
Classes: 2/10 (3-4pm), 3/10 (3-4pm), 4/14 (3-4pm)

Searching Ovid MEDLINE Effectively: We’ll focus on using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) more efficiently and revising strategies for optimal results.
Class es: 2/22 (1-2pm), 3/24 (10-11am), 4/26 (1-2pm)

Searching PubMed Effectively: Learn how to do advanced searches in PubMed using MeSH terms, searching within Special Queries, using PubMed Subsets, and using additional PubMed interfaces.
Class Times: 2/17 (11am-noon), 3/18 (3-4pm), 4/27 (noon-1pm)

Whats @ Your Library: We will cover how to access print and electronic resources through the library. Attendees will also learn how to request articles that are not owned by the library, request literature searches, and make purchase recommendations.
Classes: 2/16 (noon-1pm), 3/16 (1-2pm), 4/14 (noon-1pm)

Discover DynaMed: DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the ‘point of care’.  We’ll learn how to search in DynaMed, DynaMed’s levels of evidence recommendations, persistent links, find Continuing medical Education Credits (CME), and other features.
Classes: 2/23 (noon-1pm), 3/25 (3-4pm), 4/27 (noon-1pm)

Access to Medline with Full-Text

The Health Sciences Library is happy to announce a new subscription to Ebsco’s Medline with Full-Text.

MEDLINE® with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE® with Full Text uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

MEDLINE® with Full Text is also the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,450 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index – with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1949 and full-text back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.

Click here to view a list of the journals with the available date ranges. The journals will be accessible through our databases and through the Find A Journal link on the homepage.

PubMed Author ID

In mid-2011, the National Library of Medicine (NLM) expects to introduce PubMed Author ID, a tool for addressing the problem of ambiguous author names within the biomedical literature. PubMed is the largest  online collection of biomedical literature, with citations and abstracts for more than 20 million articles from biomedical and life sciences journals. With such an extensive collection it is common for multiple authors to have the same name (e.g., 100s of different John Jones), and it is also common for the same author to have published under different versions of her name (e.g., Jane Smith, Jane P. Smith, J.P. Smith).   NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) is developing a system that will address this problem and facilitate accurate search and retrieval of a participating author’s works.
The specifics of PubMed Author ID are still evolving, but as currently envisioned authors (or their designees) would register for the service through My NCBI and identify their research articles in PubMed using provided tools; this identification of articles will allow NCBI to link alternate names/spellings associated with an individual. NLM has already laid the foundation for the system by developing a process for NIH-funded authors to identify their articles for grant reporting purposes. NLM expects to make PubMed Author ID interoperable with multiple external author ID systems, such as those developed by publisher groups, non-profits organizations, and other nations. NLM has not yet identified external author ID systems that it will incorporate in PubMed Author ID, but will work with outside groups as systems are developed in this rapidly evolving area.
To learn more, click here

Electronic Resources Deselection

These days, libraries are frequently in the unenviable position of balancing financial responsibility with tough withdrawal decisions so that collections remain useful, accurate and current while remaining within budgetary allotments.

The Health Sciences Library currently provides access to over 11,000 titles in electronic format via 933 paid subscriptions. Access to a larger number of titles than subscriptions because vendors bundle titles into a single subscription, reciprocal subscription sharing with the University Libraries provides access to each others collections, consortium agreements provide cost-free or deeply discounted resources, and open access titles with acceptable 6 or 12 month embargos are available at no cost as are a number of federal government subscriptions.

By working with the Health Sciences Library Committee and other faculty and student groups, the library has identified 620 of our 933 paid subscriptions as core subscriptions that we cannot afford to loose if we are to be a premier academic health sciences center. However, 353 subscriptions to journals, e-books and databases will need to be canceled in December 2010 to comply with budget restrictions. Much care and effort has been taken to minimize the impact of these cancellations, but we are aware that this will have a dramatic effect on several programs.

Please review the excel sheet of possible cancellations and invite you to review and comment–we want your thoughts!